top of page

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashta = eight

Anga = limb

Yoga = unity

Because That is subtle, invisible and immaterial, the sages have spoken of its accessible form, and it is by progressive degrees that this form will be


- Avhadûta Gîtâ ll.15

Jnana Mudra

Although the word yoga can have many meanings, we'll call it change, because now something will finally change, something we're not used to, and the conviction that life holds an immense mystery, but that it's possible to access it with simplicity of mind. Through openness to what is. Pure existence, eternal and universal, yoga reaches the human heart, whether we see it or not. Ashtanga Yoga has its origins in the Sanskrit texts expounded by the sage Patanjali, who was the first to systematize the path of classical yoga. These are the stages that structure the logical progression through which the practitioner passes before reaching the state of yoga. The first five limbs (external support) are the foundations of the last 3 (internal practice).The first two limbs, Yama & Niyama, are crucial, and are often the most neglected. Without them, the practice is meaningless, and doesn't allow for the process that yoga is supposed to bring about - an upward inner transformation.

1 - Yama 

Inner purification (awareness of conditioning)


Awareness of our violent thoughts


Truthfulness, sincere self-examination


Awareness of the desire to possess


Awareness of life energy


Awareness of mental concepts

2 - Niyama

external purification (awareness of action)


action without personal gain


satisfaction through acceptance of what is


determination to seek the source of consciousness


seeking association with truth

Isvara pranidana

surrender to the divine (love)

3 - Asana

Physical purification (body awareness)

4 - Pranayama

Subtle purification (developing breath awareness)

5 - Pratyahara

Sense withdrawal (conscious use of the 5 senses)

6 - Dharana


7 - Dhyana

State of being (meditation)

8 - Samadhi

State of unity, totality, liberation (pure consciousness)

bottom of page