Ashtanga Yoga

The Way of 8-Limbs Unity
ashta = eight | anga = branch | yoga = unit

YAMA -  Inner purification (packaging consciousness)

NIYAMA - External purification (awareness of action)

ASANA - Physical purification (body awareness)

PRANAYAMA - Subtle purification (awareness of the breath)

PRATYAHARA - Conscious use of the 5 senses

DHARANA - Discernment (concentration)

DHYANA - State of being (meditation)
SAMADHI - State of unity, totality, liberation (pure consciousness)

Le Sage Patanjali

Ashtanga finds its origins in the Sanskrit texts, exposed by the sage Patanjali , who was the first to systematize the path of classical yoga.

These are the stages which structure the logical progression through which the practitioner goes before reaching the state of Yoga.

They are all related to each other, and can be practiced simultaneously.

The first five branches (the external support) are the foundations of the last 3 (the internal practice).

The first two branches are crucial, and are often the most neglected. Without it the practice is meaningless and does not allow the process that the practice of yoga is supposed to bring about, the upward inner transformation.


AHIMSA - become aware of our violent thoughts

SATYA - truthfulness, sincere self-examination

ASTEYA - become aware of the desire for possession

BRAHMACHARYA - take  awareness of the energy of life

ABHINIVESHA  - become aware of mental concepts


SHAUCHA - action  without personal profit

SANTOSHA - satisfaction through acceptance of what is

TAPAH - being determined to seek the source of consciousness

SVADHYAYA - seek to associate with the truth

ISVARA PRANIDANA - surrender to the divine (love)